June 7, 2015

Sandra Beasley and Kyle Dargan spoke about their respective books, Count the Waves and Honest Engine,at Politics & Prose on Sunday, June 7, 2015.

Beasley is the author of a memoir, Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl, and two award-winning poetry collections, Theories of Falling and I Was the Jukebox. Her third book of poems is an exhilarating combination of lyricism and whimsy as she looks at love and love’s instruments. Dargan, American University writing professor, editor of POST NO ILLS magazine, and author of the Cave Canem Poetry Prize-winning The Listening, has reimagined elegy as self-portrait in his fourth collection, which commemorates recent losses of family members and friends and locates meaning in “a third realm—not of bodies or souls / but the miscellany of life sketched / along the interiors of our skulls.”

Count the Waves: Poems By Sandra Beasley Cover Image
ISBN: 9780393353211
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - December 13th, 2016

Honest Engine: Poems By Kyle Dargan Cover Image
ISBN: 9780820347288
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Georgia Press - April 1st, 2015