Staff Pick

Hideo Suzuki's life is rough: by day he toils away as the assistant to a comics artist, while by night he struggles with mental illness and tries to be there for his girlfriend. Then one day, zombies attack. I Am A Hero is a psychological thriller, a good old-fashioned action shoot-em-up starring a less than fit protagonist, but more than anything it's the story of a generation adrift in Japan, who in the midst of the quietly apocalyptic tenor of their lives are suddenly made to confront real apocalypse.

I am a Hero Omnibus Volume 1 Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781616559205
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Dark Horse Manga - April 26th, 2016

I am a Hero Omnibus Volume 2 Cover Image
By Kengo Hanazawa, Kengo Hanazawa (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781506700199
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dark Horse Manga - October 25th, 2016

Staff Pick

Ken Liu is one of the most exciting writers currently working in science fiction and fantasy, and The Wall of Storms (Saga Press, $29.99) may be his best novel. The sequel to last year’s The Grace of Kings, it is set in a world founded in Chinese history, but infused with elements from classic martial arts stories, the plays of Shakespeare, and epics such as The Iliad. Fans of George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire books may enjoy it for the strong character development, the politicking and tragic moments of violence. But The Wall of Storms has far more to offer than blood and angst. Student and teacher discuss the schools of philosophy, and whether there is any one answer to living an honest life; the wife of the emperor commits unthinkable acts to create a more just society; the gods themselves bicker and cheat and are remade even as the beliefs of the people are remade. You’ll meet Zomi and Thera, two young women from very different backgrounds who fight to save their people from unimaginable horror. And just when you think you have the story figured out, Liu stabs you in the back!

The Wall of Storms (The Dandelion Dynasty #2) Cover Image
By Ken Liu
$29.99
ISBN: 9781481424301
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - October 4th, 2016

The Wall of Storms (The Dandelion Dynasty #2) Cover Image
By Ken Liu
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481424318
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - July 18th, 2017

Staff Pick

Say you’re a seasoned traveler who’s tired of guides that point you towards the same places every single time. To cure your ills, there’s no better book than Joshua Foer, Dylan Thuras, and Ella Morton’s The Atlas Obscura: An Explorer’s Guide to the World’s Hidden Wonders (Workman, $35), which comes replete with stories of incredible locations for the curious soul. Why not visit the Canadian Potato Museum, which prides itself on having “the largest exhibit of potato artifacts in the world”? The Child Eater of Bern, a five-hundred-year-old statue in Switzerland depicting a man munching on human babies, whose origin nobody knows? Or for the truly daring: The Gates of Hell, a hole in the ground in Turkmenistan that’s been burning constantly for forty years? It would not be exaggeration for me to say that these are only the tip of the iceberg; this book covers a lot of ground, and all of it will capture the imaginations of both the practical and the armchair traveler. But this is only the beginning. Readers will find more articles waiting on the official Atlas Obscura website, of which this volume represents merely a selection. Especially worth consideration for writers in need of ideas for stories: now, why has that hole in Turkmenistan been on fire for forty years running?

Atlas Obscura: An Explorer's Guide to the World's Hidden Wonders Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780761169086
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Workman Publishing Company - September 20th, 2016

Pages