Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Staff Pick

The world of Red Rising, like that of many dystopian novels, is fraught with hierarchy, corruption, and misery. Unlike many other science fiction novels, however, this one features a truly flawed human as a hero and allows him space to grow. Darrow, a man born into the lowest echelon of society, is not a fearless revolutionary trying to fix the world. Rather, he is a wounded man who learns to be brave on his quest for revenge. This David vs Goliath is not for the weak hearted.

Red Rising (Red Rising Series #1) By Pierce Brown Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780345539809
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Del Rey - July 15th, 2014

Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros

Staff Pick

Fourth Wing is exactly what I didn't know I needed. This fantasy romance embraces so many tropes and runs with them, that if I had to choose one book to summarize the majority of new adult fantasy, this is it. It's perfect for readers who loved Eragon, Harry Potter, A Court of Thorns and Roses--or anyone in a deep reading slump.

 

Fourth Wing (The Empyrean #1) By Rebecca Yarros Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781649374042
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Entangled: Red Tower Books - May 2nd, 2023

A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers

Staff Pick

Dedicated "to anyone who needs a break," this cozy novella is set in the utopian near future where a non-binary tea monk and a curious robot meet in the wilderness and tackle life's biggest questions together. Wonderfully soothing, the work is both comforting and meditative in the way it approaches identity, nature, productivity, and many other troubles that haunt daily life.


 

A Psalm for the Wild-Built: A Monk and Robot Book (Monk & Robot #1) By Becky Chambers Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781250236210
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Tordotcom - July 13th, 2021