This gentle adventure about conquering your fears and being a kid, by award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly, follows Marisol Rainey the youngest of the Rainey family during a hot Louisiana summer. Her father works on an oil rig, her brother is stinky and loves soccer, and her mother, a seventh-grade science teacher, can speak three languages and grew up in the Philippines. Marisol has a big imagination and a brain that she just can't turn off. Sometimes, those thoughts feed her fears and keep her from taking risks--the biggest of which is climbing the perfect backyard tree that she's named Peppina. Good thing she has a supportive family and Jada, a fabulous friend who shares her love for imaginative play and is by her side fears or none. With an engaging, classic feel, and delightful, fully formed characters, Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey (Greenwillow Books, $16.99), is perfect for fans of Beezus and Ramona, Clementine, and Ways to Make Sunshine. Ages 5+. Anna Jordan

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062970428
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 4th, 2021

Tyrus Wong was a young boy who left his homeland of China with his father in 1919. Throughout his life paper defined his identity from becoming a US citizen to his art at school and his prolific art career beyond. Later in life, he even becomes a Disney Animator and one of the greatest Chinese American artists of the 1900's. Julie Leung tells this hopeful and needed story as a way to remember that all people are necessary. Paper Son (Schwartz & Wade, $17.99), told through mixing styles of both Asian pacific watercolor and charcoal like illustrations by Chris Sasaki, is captivating and shows that identity can be claimed and celebrated through art and storytelling. Ages 4-8. Hannah Manwiller

Paper Son: The Inspiring Story of Tyrus Wong, Immigrant and Artist Cover Image
By Julie Leung, Chris Sasaki (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524771874
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Schwartz & Wade - September 24th, 2019

The year 1968 was one of the most fraught, tumultuous years in recent U.S. history. But when sisters Delphine, Vonetta and Fern hop on a plane to Oakland, CA, they’re not concerned with social issues but with re-uniting with their mother. They haven’t seen her since she abandoned them and moved across the country, and will spend One Crazy Summer (Harper Collins, $6.99) getting to know her and uncovering the secrets of their pasts. Rita Williams-Garcia’s award-winning novel is an engaging journey through histories both political and familial. Ages 11-13
One Crazy Summer Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060760908
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 27th, 2011

Pages