It took Kai Bird and Martin J. Sherwin 25 years to write this definitive biography of the man nicknamed ‘the father of the atomic bomb’. Thoroughly researched and detailed, the book paints a complex portrait of a man who was brilliant yet naive, charming yet abrasive. Oppenheimer’s story is also the story of how the country, caught up in anti-communism hysteria, turned on its best and brightest citizens.
American Prometheus: The Triumph and Tragedy of J. Robert Oppenheimer Cover Image
ISBN: 9780375726262
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Vintage - April 11th, 2006

The Whisperers begins with the Revolution of 1917 and moves on beyond Stalin’s death and even past the collapse of the USSR, describing experiences of several families affected by the Soviet regime’s policies. Figes shows how living in a regime that turns on its own people can poison one’s psyche and family relations for generations. It makes for a difficult and heartbreaking reading at times, but the book is impressively well-researched (with hundreds of interviews) and is a must-read for anyone interested in the USSR history.
The Whisperers: Private Life in Stalin's Russia Cover Image
ISBN: 9780312428037
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - November 25th, 2008

The narrator is Mary Katherine "Merricat" Blackwood, who lives on the outskirts of her village with her sister Constance and her uncle Julian. The trio is ostracized due to the family history –and to the villagers' suspicion that Constance poisoned the Blackwood parents with arsenic.  Merricat, who visits the village to pick up provisions, serves as the Blackwoods' only connection to the outside world. As the narrative’s deceptively innocent tone lures you in further and further, you realize that this is perhaps the most unsettling and disturbing book you will ever read (and yes, that's what makes it amazing).

We Have Always Lived in the Castle: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By Shirley Jackson, Jonathan Lethem (Introduction by), Thomas Ott (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780143039976
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Penguin Classics - October 31st, 2006