Children & Teens Slide Into Summer Reading Boxes

The Children and Teens Department is proud to present:

 

Slide Into Summer Reading Boxes!

Parents report that 20% of their young readers will not read at all over the summer. Politics and Prose knows you love reading, so we’ve carefully curated seven different book boxes of the newest, notable fiction and nonfiction that will keep the whole family reading through the summer months. 

Participating young readers will receive a single box with multiple books that are just right for their age and interest. We will start shipping books the last week of June for those who sign up by June 11th.

 

Raising Readers Box 

Ages 0-3

ADD TO CART

raising-readers.png

WE ALL PLAY By Julie Fleck

Animals and kids love to play This wonderful bookcelebrates diversity and the interconnectedness of nature through an Indigenous perspective, complete with a glossary of Cree words for wild animals at the back of the book, and children repeating a Cree phrase throughout the book. Readers will encounter birds who chase and chirp, bears who wiggle and wobble, whales who swim and squirt, owls who peek and peep, and a diverse group of kids who love to do the same

LET'S FIND MOMO OUTDOORS By Andrew Knapp

In this follow-up to Let’s Find Momo!, spend a day with Momo as he sets off on a nature adventure. From the mountains to the beach to camping under the stars, young readers will delight in finding Momo in unexpected and beautiful locations. Plus, Momo has an adorable new puppy friend: Boo!

OSCAR'S TOWER OF FLOWERS By Lauren Tobia

A wordless picture book for the very young—bursting with green!—celebrates community, gardening, and sharing beauty with the world. Oscar’s mom has to go away for a little while, so Oscar is staying with his nana. He likes being with Nana in her apartment building, but he still misses his mom. One day, Nana has an idea, and together they carefully sow seeds—lots and lots of seeds! They water them and wait . . . and then the seeds start to grow and the flowers begin to bloom and there are plants everywhere. Luckily Oscar has a great idea for what they can do with the blossoms—share them!

 

Story Time Box 

Ages 4-6

ADD TO CART

storytime.jpg

BRAVE AS A MOUSE by Nicolo Carozzi

The friendship of a goldfish and a mouse is in jeopardy when three not-so-friendly felines want to play too. This gorgeously illustrated picture book reminds us of the importance of bravery and friendship.

A BOY NAMED ISAMU by James Yang
With stunning artwork and heart-singing text, the 2020 winner of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award brings to life the imagination of Isamu Noguchi.

MEMORY JARS by Vera Brosgol

A young girl finds a clever way to keep her favorite things--and people--close to her forever.

 

Early Fiction Box

Ages 7-9

ADD TO CART

earlyfiction.jpg

WAYS TO GROW LOVE by Renée Watson 

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award winner Renée Watson continues her charming young middle grade series starring Ryan Hart, a girl who is pure spirit and sunshine.

THE SLEEPOVER by Sergioi Ruzzier

In the tradition of Frog and Toad, this critically acclaimed early reader series features Fox and Chick – two unlikely friends who despite their differences always manage to find a way to get along. In this third book in the series, Fox and Chick have a sleepover, search for a lost hammer and throw a surprise party that unexpectedly surprises everyone. The universal characters, humor and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.

MAYBE MAYBE MARISOL RAINEY by Erin Entrada Kelly

Maybe, Maybe Marisol Rainey is an illustrated novel about summer, friendship, and overcoming fears, told with warm humor and undeniable appeal. Fans of Clementine, The Year of Billy Miller, and Ramona the Pest will be thrilled to meet Marisol.

 

Info Kids Nonfiction Box

Ages 6-9

ADD TO CART

infokids.png

SUMMERTIME SLEEPERS by Melissa Stewart and Sarah Brannen

Everyone knows about animals that hibernate in the winter. But it's time to discover animals that sleep all summer long!

THE SHARK BOOK by Steve Jenkins and Robin Page

Caldecott Honor–winning team Steve Jenkins and Robin Page explore the astonishing lives of sharks in this brilliantly illustrated picture book. Perfect for Shark Week and all year round, this ode to the notorious ocean predator with more than four hundred species will blow you out of the water!

UNBOUND by Joyce Scott, Brie Spangler, and Melissa Sweet

A moving and powerful introduction to the life and art of renowned artist, Judith Scott, as told by her twin sister, Joyce Scott and illustrated by Caldecott Honor artist, Melissa Sweet.

 

SciFi/Fantasy Fiction Box

Ages 9-13

ADD TO CART

scifi.jpg

The Stolen Prince of Cloudburst by Jaclyn Moriarty

Esther is a middle child, in her own mind a pale reflection of siblings who are bright, shining stars. Her mother doesn't show the slightest bit of interest, no matter what Esther does. Still, she's content to go back to school, do her best, hang out with her friends, and let others take care of things.

Last Gate of the Emperor by Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel Makonnen 

From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an Afrofuturist adventure about a mythical Ethiopian empire. Sci-fi and fantasy combine in this epic journey to the stars.

Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion by Gregory Mone 

Perfect for fans of Percy Jackson and Mr. Lemoncello’s Library, Atlantis: The Accidental Invasion launches an exciting, action-packed new series about the underwater lost city
 

Contemporary Fiction Box

Ages 9-13

ADD TO CART

contemporary.jpg

Turtle Boy by M. Evan Wolkenstein

A boy who has spent his life living inside a shell discovers the importance of taking chance in this "winner" (Booklist, starred review) of a friendship story that's perfect for fans of Wonder.

From the Desk of Zoe Washington by Janae Marks

Zoe Washington isn’t sure what to write. What does a girl say to the father she’s never met, hadn’t heard from until his letter arrived on her twelfth birthday, and who’s been in prison for a terrible crime?

More to the Story by Hena Khan 

From the critically acclaimed author of Amina’s Voice comes a new story inspired by Louisa May Alcott’s beloved classic, Little Women, featuring four sisters from a modern American Muslim family living in Georgia.

How to Make Friends with the Sea by Tanya Guerre

Tanya Guerrero's How to Make Friends with the Sea is a middle grade debut novel set in the Philippines about a young boy's challenges with anxiety while his mother fosters an orphaned child with a facial anomaly.
 

Young Adult Fiction Box

Ages 14+

ADD TO CART

youngadult.jpg

Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet by Laekan Zea Kemp

I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact in this stunning story of first love, familial expectations, the power of food, and finding where you belong.

Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee

From the critically-acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.

The Ones We're Meant to Find by Joan He

Perfect for fans of Marie Lu and E. Lockhart, The Ones We're Meant to Find is a gripping and heartfelt YA sci-fi with mind-blowing twists. Set in a climate-ravaged future, Joan He's beautifully written novel follows the story of two sisters, separated by an ocean, desperately trying to find each other.
 

 

FAQs:

How do I send a child a Slide Into Summer Book box?

Choose the bundle you want, and then click ADD TO CART. In the store, we have order forms you can fill out and hand to a bookseller. Please complete one online order for each child online. In store, fill out one order form per child. Get your orders in by June 11th!

 

It’s after June 11th. Can I still sign up?

Yes! However, depending on publisher’s printing schedules, we may need to substitute another great title.

 

When will my recipient receive the books?

We will start shipping books the last week of June. Please use the "SHIP TO" address appropriate for that date (home, camp, vacation, etc.).

 

Can I pick the books in the box?

No. The titles in each box are preset. We are excited to introduce you to the newest books about which our Children and Teens booksellers are excited and to encourage your young readers to try something they haven’t read in the past.

 

I already have one of the books in the box. Can I ask for a different one?

Unfortunately, we cannot switch out books before shipping. We are happy to take exchanges at any of our three locations after you receive the books.

 

I love this! Can I get books sent to me after the summer?

Yes! We have a Children’s Book-a-Month subscription program. You can choose to receive/send books once-a-month, once-every-other-month, or once-a-quarter. Tell us the type of books your child loves and we will choose a unique, new title and send it to them. You only pay for the cost of the book and the shipping.

 

Contact ajordan@politics-prose.com if you have any questions!