The Book Eaters by Sunyi Dean

Staff Pick

Looking for an adventure/mystery that's a bit odd and horrifying? Welcome to the society of book eaters--a population that lives near Britain's forgotten mansions and, though looking like people, have immense strength and eat books to survive. That is, the ones who don't prefer to eat human brains. Devon knows how dangerous these creatures are and escapes captivity with her son. But as she journeys, she uncovers more mysteries and horrors of the book eaters' world. In Dean's fantastical imagining, this realm has an intricate hierarchical system that plays on fairy tales and societal pressures. This is great for fans of Neil Gaiman and Susanna Clarke!

The Book Eaters By Sunyi Dean Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250810205
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Tor Books - June 27th, 2023

The Book Eaters by Sunyi Dean

Staff Pick

Looking for an adventure/mystery that's a bit odd and horrifying? Welcome to the society of book eaters--a population that lives near Britain's forgotten mansions and, though looking like people, have immense strength and eat books to survive. That is, the ones who don't prefer to eat human brains. Devon knows how dangerous these creatures are and escapes captivity with her son. But as she journeys, she uncovers more mysteries and horrors of the book eaters' world. In Dean's fantastical imagining, this realm comes with an intricate hierarchical system that plays on fairy tales and societal pressures. This is great for fans of Neil Gaiman and Susanna Clarke!


 

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Staff Pick

The world of Red Rising, like that of many dystopian novels, is fraught with hierarchy, corruption, and misery. Unlike many other science fiction novels, however, this one features a truly flawed human as a hero and allows him space to grow. Darrow, a man born into the lowest echelon of society, is not a fearless revolutionary trying to fix the world. Rather, he is a wounded man who learns to be brave on his quest for revenge. This David vs Goliath is not for the weak hearted.

Red Rising (Red Rising Series #1) By Pierce Brown Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780345539809
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Del Rey - July 15th, 2014

Pages