Staff Pick

“Kids will be okay as long as they have one good friend,” says Shannon’s mother. But as Shannon gets older, she finds herself lonely and confused by the social scene around her. Raina Telgemeier fans will enjoy this graphic memoir about Real Friends (First Second, $21.99 HB/$12.99 PB). Newbery Honor-winning author Shannon Hale poignantly conjures up the deep hurt of childhood rejection and the sweet relief of a vivid imagination. LeUyen Pham’s art shines when Shannon makes (and sometimes escapes from) friends through imaginative play, as the real world melts away into enchanting fantasy-scapes. Ages 9-12.

 

Real Friends Cover Image
By Shannon Hale, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781626727854
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: First Second - May 2nd, 2017

Staff Pick

Jacqueline K. Ogburn’s debut novel is an enthralling mixture of fantasy, mystery, and family secrets. Eleven-year-old Eric Harper’s sighting of an injured, magical creature leads him to The Unicorn in the Barn (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, $16.99). Despite the protests of her daughter, Allegra, the veterinarian and new owner of Harper’s Farmhouse invites Eric to help care for a menagerie of enchanting creatures. As Eric navigates this secret job, he reaches an understanding with the forthright Allegra, discovers the limitations of magic, and faces the realities of his grandmother’s illness. Rebecca Green’s expressive illustrations, perfectly placed throughout the text, enhance this gentle tale and its cast of well-crafted characters. Ages 10-12.

 

The Unicorn in the Barn Cover Image
By Jacqueline Ogburn, Rebecca Green (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780544761124
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - July 4th, 2017

Staff Pick

The Five Worlds are in danger: an ancient enemy has attacked them, and an impending natural cataclysm looms. Their fate rests in the hands of three young heroes who each have unique abilities... as well as secrets to hide. Can they succeed by summoning the power of The Sand Warrior (Random House, $18.99 HB/$12.99 PB)? Fans of Amulet and Avatar: The Last Airbender will enjoy the action- and mystery-filled first installment of this fantasy adventure series written by Mark and Alexis Siegel, with ethereal artwork by Xanthe Bouma, Matt Rockefeller, and Boya Sun. Ages 9-12.

 

5 Worlds Book 1: The Sand Warrior Cover Image
By Mark Siegel, Alexis Siegel, Xanthe Bouma (Illustrator), Matt Rockefeller (Illustrator), Boya Sun (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781101935880
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 2nd, 2017

Pages