March (Trilogy Slipcase Set) - John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell

Staff Pick

The March Trilogy is one of the most important graphic novels created. A superbly told history of the civil rights movement, John Lewis’s personal account of the actions of individuals and organizations throughout the South (but focused largely in Alabama) is a gripping, passionate, and richly detailed narrative of the events that would eventually lead to the signing of landmark legislation—The Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965. Lewis and Andrew Aydin tell this story in three perfectly paced volumes, with a focus on Lewis’s personal involvement that emphasizes the reality that civil rights activists faced throughout this struggle. The factual recounting of events is dramatic, engaging, and heartrending. The story is beautifully drawn by Nate Powell who delivers moments of quiet and introspection alongside powerful and brutal moments. Finally complete, March is a powerful story, made more evocative by the issues we continue to face today.

March (Trilogy Slipcase Set) By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator) Cover Image
By John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, Nate Powell (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781603093958
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Top Shelf Productions - September 6th, 2016