Richie Jackson - Gay Like Me: A Father Writes to His Son — in conversation with Peter Marks — at The Wharf

Upcoming Event
Monday, February 10, 2020 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

In the vein of Ta-Nehisi Coates’s Between the World and Me and Imani Perry’s Breathe, Jackson’s moving and important new book about the LGBTQ struggle is framed as a letter to his son born through surrogacy, who came out to Jackson when he was fifteen. Imparting wisdom, warning, and personal and national history, Jackson, an award-winning theater, film, and television producer—and, with his husband, winner of the Trevor Project’s 2016 Trevor Hero Award—celebrates gay identity and marvels at how far the movement has come since Stonewall. At the same time, he notes the upsurge in hatred and cautions his son not to take for granted the hard-won gains. Jackson will be in conversation with Peter Marks, Washington Post drama critic.

Politics and Prose at the Wharf
70 District Square SW
Washington, DC 20024
The Wharf
Non Fiction
Gay Like Me: A Father Writes to His Son Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780062939777
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Harper - January 28th, 2020

Not Signed or Personalized