Laura Fargas - The Green of Ordinary Time & Robert J. Williams - Strivers and Other Stories

Upcoming Event
Sunday, January 22, 2017 - 1:00pm to 2:00pm

Washington Writers Publishing House is a non-profit literary organization established in 1973 to foster the work of writers in the Washington-Baltimore area, and it sponsors annual prizes in poetry and fiction. The 2016 Jean Feldman Award goes to Laura Fargas for a collection of poems that celebrates quiet moments with a keen attentiveness, noting, for instance, “pale morning hours, // trees like priests wearing the green of ordinary time.” The author of An Animal of the Sixth Day, Fargas practiced occupational safety and health litigation on the worker side for twenty-seven years for the Department of Labor, meanwhile publishing poems in journals including The Paris Review, Poetry, and The Atlantic Monthly.

Robert Williams is the latest winner of the WWPH fiction prize. Born and educated in Georgia, Williams writes vividly about the American south, making the region itself a central character in his first collection of short fiction. Currently working on a novel, Williams has twenty years of experience in digital marketing, advertising, and web technology.

5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC 20008
Fiction & Poetry
The Green of Ordinary Time Cover Image
ISBN: 9781941551127
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Washington Writers' Publishing House - October 15th, 2016

Strivers and Other Stories Cover Image
ISBN: 9781941551110
Availability: Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Washington Writers' Publishing House - October 1st, 2016

Share this
Not Signed or Personalized