Kidada E. Williams — I Saw Death Coming: A History of Terror and Survival in the War Against Reconstruction — at Conn Ave

Upcoming Event
Friday, January 20, 2023 - 7:00pm

Click here to watch the livestream for this event.

In I Saw Death Coming, Kidada E. Williams offers a breakthrough account of the much-debated Reconstruction period, transporting readers into the daily existence of formerly enslaved people building hope-filled new lives. Drawing on overlooked sources and bold new readings of the archives, Williams offers a revelatory and, in some cases, minute-by-minute record of nighttime raids and Ku Klux Klan strikes. And she deploys cutting-edge scholarship on trauma to consider how the effects of these attacks would linger for decades--indeed, generations--to come. For readers of Carol Anderson, Tiya Miles, and Clint Smith, I Saw Death Coming is an indelible and essential book that speaks to some of the most pressing questions of our times.

Kidada E. Williams is Associate Professor of History at Wayne State University. She is the author of They Left Great Marks on Me, coauthor of Charleston Syllabus, and creator of the podcast Seizing Freedom. Williams has been interviewed on NPR's Morning Edition and On Point, and her essays have appeared in the New York Times, Slate, and multiple scholarly journals. She lives in Detroit.

Click here for current mask requirements.

This event is free with first come, first served seating.

 

5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC 20008
Non Fiction
I Saw Death Coming: A History of Terror and Survival in the War Against Reconstruction By Kidada E. Williams Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781635576634
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - January 17th, 2023