Imani Perry - Breathe: A Letter to My Sons — at Politics and Prose at Union Market

Upcoming Event
Sunday, September 22, 2019 - 5:00pm to 6:00pm

Addressed to her two sons, Perry’s book is a profound and personal reflection on race and the challenges for both Black parents and children in a world that increasingly denies Black boys their humanity. Writing in the vein of James Baldwin and Ta-Nehisi Coates, Perry, Hughes-Rogers Professor of African American Studies at Princeton and author of books including Looking for Lorraine, is open and honest about the realities of raising Black boys; while voicing her fears and frustrations, she nonetheless exhorts the next generation to see the beauty and possibility in life, especially by looking to the Black tradition for hope, wisdom, and strength.

 

Politics and Prose at Union Market
1270 5th Street NE
Washington, DC 20002
Union Market
Non Fiction
Breathe: A Letter to My Sons Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780807076552
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Beacon Press - September 17th, 2019