Daniella Mestyanek Young — Uncultured — with Tee Marie Hanible - at Conn Ave

Upcoming Event
Monday, September 26, 2022 - 7:00pm

 

Please click here to see current mask requirements. 

This is an in-person event, and seating is first come, first served.

CLICK HERE for the livestreaming link.

Behind the tall, foreboding gates of a commune in Brazil, Daniella Mestyanek Young was raised in the religious cult The Children of God, also known as The Family, as the daughter of high-ranking members. Beholden to The Family’s strict rules, Daniella suffers physical, emotional, and sexual abuse—masked as godly discipline and divine love—and is forbidden from getting a traditional education. At fifteen years old, Daniella escapes to Texas. There, she bravely enrolls herself in high school and excels, later graduating as valedictorian of her college class, then electing to join the military to begin a career as an intelligence officer, where she believes she will finally belong. But she soon learns that her new world looks remarkably similar to the one she desperately tried to leave behind. In the vein of Educated and The Glass Castle, Daniella Mestyanek Young's Uncultured is more than a memoir about an exceptional upbringing, but about a woman who, no matter the lack of tools given to her, is determined to overcome.

Daniella Mestyanek Young is an American author and speaker who was raised in the religious cult, Children of God. She later served as an intelligence officer for the US Army for over six years, making the rank of Captain, and became one of the first women in US Army history to conduct deliberate ground combat operations when she volunteered to serve on a Female Engagement Team. Daniella is also the recipient of the Presidential Volunteer Service Medal. Daniella lives with her husband and daughter in Maryland, and is a candidate for a Master's degree in Industrial and Organizational Psychology from the Harvard Extension School.

Mestyanek Young will be in convesation with Tee Marie Hanible. Retired from the U.S. Marines after nineteen years of service, Hanible became the first female military expert on "American Grit." She founded Operation Heroes Connect, an organization that partners service members and veterans as mentors for at-risk youth.In 2012, she was featured in the Newsweek magazine "Heroes Edition." She was the National Veteran's Chair for the Women's March and is currently an Executive Board member of the DC chapter. The Warrior Code is her first book.

5015 Connecticut Ave NW
Washington, DC 20008
Non Fiction
Uncultured: A Memoir By Daniella Mestyanek Young Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250280114
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: St. Martin's Press - September 20th, 2022