Amitava Kumar - Immigrant, Montana — at Politics and Prose at Union Market

Upcoming Event
Friday, August 10, 2018 - 7:00pm to 8:00pm

Narrated by the keenly observant Kailish, Kumar’s second novel is a remarkable evocation of both a young man’s coming of age and an immigrant’s vertignous experience of his new country. Called variously Kalashnikov, AK-47, and AK by his friends, Kailish, a graduate student from India, grapples with a constantly shifting identity. But as insecure as he feels, he’s also determined to get all he can out of both his formal and his personal educations. Each section bears the title of Kailish’s different romantic interests, while the text itself is a richly layered mix of anecdote, annotation, reportage, and pictures.  Kumar, a journalist and professor of English at Vassar who has written across genres ranging from poetry to memoir to criticism, here works in the vein of Teju Cole and W.S. Sebold.

 

Politics and Prose at Union Market
1270 5th St NE
Washington, DC 20002
Union Market
Fiction & Poetry
Immigrant, Montana: A novel Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525520757
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Knopf - July 31st, 2018

Share this
Not Signed or Personalized