Children & Teens Books of the Week

New in Hardcover
Summer Camp Critter Jitters Cover Image
By Jory John, Liz Climo (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593110980
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Dial Books - June 1st, 2021

Summertime can come with so many adventures it's hard to pick which new ones to do, and with every new adventure comes questions. Will they like me at camp? Will they think I’m too different? What if I get scared? All of these questions and a few funny ones, too, are asked by a troop of animals all heading off to camp for the first time. Jory John’s  writing is simple in word choice but has large impact through Liz Climo’s illustrations. Summer Camp Critter Jitters  (Dial Books, $17.99) is a witty and sweet read that will help bring out smiles (and maybe some questions) to your children’s faces.  Ages 4-8 years, Hannah Manwiller

Blast from the Past
Camp (A Click Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781328530820
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Etch/HMH Books for Young Readers - April 23rd, 2019

Olive is going to summer camp again and this time, her good friend Willow is coming too. What could be better than having a BFF at Camp (Etch HMH, $12.99)? But Willow has a bad case of homesickness that makes her cling to Olive and keeps Olive from experiencing all the fun that camp has to offer. When the girls fight and separate, Olive feels awful about their fight and has a hard time enjoying the space away from Willow. Will they be happy campers before they board the bus home? With bright drawings and a diverse cast of characters, this graphic novel from Kayla Miller is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Victoria Jamieson. Ages 8-12. Anna Jordan

YA
Flamer Cover Image
By Mike Curato, Mike Curato (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250756145
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - September 1st, 2020

It’s the mid 1980s and soon-to-be 9th grader Aidan is dreading the move to a new high school. He feels “too short, too fat, not white enough… and not straight enough” to feel safe anywhere. He finds some respite at his annual Boy Scout summer camp where he’s made good friends, but even there he becomes a target of toxic masculine bullies. Based on Mike Curato’s own struggles and inner turmoil as a teen, Flamer (Henry Holt, $17.99) is a graphic novel that illustrates the pain of growing up yet still leaves the reader with embers of hope that come from believing in your own self-worth. Ages 14+. Heidi Ashton Yoon