Bride of the Sea (Paperback)

Bride of the Sea Cover Image
$16.95
Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now

Description


“A marvel. An intricately realized novel that honors every place it depicts.” —Rakesh Satyal


“I love the sea,” she said. “I don’t know if I could live without it.”


During a snowy Cleveland February, newlywed university students Muneer and Saeedah are expecting their first child, and he is harboring a secret: the word divorce is whispering in his ear. Soon, their marriage will end, and Muneer will return to Saudi Arabia, while Saeedah remains in Cleveland with their daughter, Hanadi. Consumed by a growing fear of losing her daughter, Saeedah disappears with the little girl, leaving Muneer to desperately search for his daughter for years. The repercussions of the abduction ripple outward, not only changing the lives of Hanadi and her parents, but also their interwoven family and friends—those who must choose sides and hide their own deeply guarded secrets.


And when Hanadi comes of age, she finds herself at the center of this conflict, torn between the world she grew up in and a family across the ocean. How can she exist between parents, between countries?


Eman Quotah’s Bride of the Sea is a spellbinding debut of colliding cultures, immigration, religion, and family; an intimate portrait of loss and healing; and, ultimately, a testament to the ways we find ourselves inside love, distance, and heartbreak.



About the Author


Eman Quotah is Arab-American, and writes for a Washington, DC, think tank. Her father is from Saudi Arabia and her mother is from the United States; she grew up in both countries and is fluent in Arabic. Eman was named John McClelland Historical Writing Resident by the Espy Foundation.

Praise For…


For fans of Mohsin Hamid and Min Jin Lee, this debut from Arab-American author Eman Quotah, which spans four decades and two continents, will satisfy anyone looking for their next sweeping family saga.
— Chicago Review of Books

Quotah’s deft characterization and pacing, combined with an inside look at Saudi Arabian life, make this debut a compelling and worthy read.
— Booklist, Starred Review

A beautifully intricate family drama about a young woman torn between her parents and two worlds.
— PopSugar

Alluring. . . . Quotah’s resonant, neatly plotted outing will be a treat for readers who love fractured family dramas.
— Publishers Weekly

A rich, finely rendered novel.
— Kirkus Reviews

Bride of the Sea is a gem.

— Book Page

A spellbinding debut of colliding cultures, immigration, religion and family; an intimate portrait of loss and healing; and, ultimately, a testament to the ways we find ourselves inside love, distance and heartbreak.
— Bookreporter

This lovely novel traces the life of a young woman caught between parents and cultures, from Saudi Arabia to America, and brings both worlds to life in all their complexities.
— Shilpi Somaya Gowda, author of The Shape of Family

Bride of the Sea is a marvel. Eman Quotah has such compassion for her characters—especially the unforgettable Hannah—while uncovering new ideas about pacing and structure. This is an intricately realized novel that honors every place it depicts.

— Rakesh Satyal, author of No One Can Pronounce My Name


Product Details
ISBN: 9781951142452
ISBN-10: 1951142454
Publisher: Tin House Books
Publication Date: January 26th, 2021
Pages: 312

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card