The Hunt for the Hollower (A Quest of Great Importance) (Hardcover)

The Hunt for the Hollower (A Quest of Great Importance) By Callie C. Miller Cover Image

The Hunt for the Hollower (A Quest of Great Importance) (Hardcover)

$18.99


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of Mar 1 9:24pm
In this riff on Arthurian legend, a wizardess who is still mastering her powers goes on an epic quest to save her brother from an evil wizard in this “sweet and fun” middle grade adventure that’s “sizzling with magic” (Adam Rex, New York Times bestselling author) and is perfect for fans of Adam Gidwitz and Amanda Foody!

The great wizard Merlyn prophesized that his seventh descendant would do wonderful, miraculous things—baffling everyone when his great-great-many-times-great grandchild turns out to be twins. Soon enough, however, it becomes clear which sibling is the Septimum Genus: Percy is a natural with magic. Merlynda (to put it simply) is not.

But Merlynda doesn’t mind. Percy has always been by her side to cheer her up (and clean up) after her magical bungles—until the twins attempt a forbidden spell to help her control her magic, and Percy vanishes through a portal and straight into the clutches of the magic-stealing, mythical Hollower.

Aided by her best friend (who longs to be a knight), a wandering musician (who is fleeing from his past), and her brand-new, fierce familiar (who yearns for a taste of funnel cake), Merlynda sets off on a quest to rescue her brother. But to defeat this ancient evil, she must discover and embrace her true powers—or else lose her brother for good.
Callie C. Miller works in animation and has written for shows spanning the audience age from preschool to teen anime. Callie holds an MFA in writing for children and young adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts and has twice placed in the Katherine Paterson Prize competition for her middle grade speculative fiction. Her books include The Hunt for the Hollower and The Search for the Shadowsoul.
Product Details ISBN: 9781665918107
ISBN-10: 1665918101
Publisher: Aladdin
Publication Date: June 13th, 2023
Pages: 400
Language: English
Series: A Quest of Great Importance
"Colorful, amusing, and action-packed... A rousing romp with deep themes."
— Kirkus Reviews 

“Sweet and fun and sizzling with magic.”
— Adam Rex, award-winning and New York Times bestselling author 

“This is a tale, not only of magic, but of what is possible, of the ability to change and grow, of the realization of one’s own powers. This is storytelling at its utter best.”
— Kathi Appelt, author of Newbery Honor-winner and National Book Award finalist The Underneath