The Damage Done: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Damage Done: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon—Pre-Order Now

Description


For fans of Ben Winters and Sarah Pinsker, this mind-bending and thought-provoking novel pushes the limits of fiction, questioning the violence sewn into our DNA.

Violence is a thing of the past—but do new horrors lie in wait?
 
Imagine a world devoid of violence—a world where fists can’t hit, guns,don’t kill, and bombs can’t destroy. In this tantalizing novel of possibility, this has—suddenly and inexplicably—become our new reality.

The U.S. president must find a new way to wage war. The Pope ponders whether the Commandment “Thou Shalt Not Kill” is still relevant. A dictator takes his own life after realizing that the violence he used to control his people is no longer an option.

In the first days after the change, seven people who have experienced violence struggle to adapt to this radical new paradigm: Dab, a bullied middle schooler; Marcus, a high school student whose brother is the last victim of gun violence in America; Ann, a social worker stuck in an abusive marriage; Richard, a professor whose past makes him expect the worst inthe present; Gabriela, who is making a dangerous border crossing into the U.S.; the Empty Shell, a dissident writer waiting to be tortured in a notorious prison; and Julian, a white supremacist plotting a horrific massacre. As their fates intertwine, the promise and perils of this new world begin to take shape.
 
Although violence is no longer possible, that doesn’t mean that some among us won’t keep trying. Mindless cruelty is still alive and well—and those bent on destruction will seek the most devious means to achieve it.

About the Author


Michael Landweber lives and writes in Washington, DC. He is the author of the novels The In Between, We, and Thursday, 1:17 pm. His short stories have appeared in literary magazines such as Gargoyle, Fourteen Hills, Fugue, Barrelhouse and American Literary Review. He is anAssociate Editor at Potomac Review and a contributor for the Washington Independent Review of Books.

Praise For…


Praise for: The Damage Done
“Mike Landweber's wide-ranging cast of characters submerges us in a realm where violence no longer exists. Thought provoking, engaging, and powerful, this novel invites us to hope for a better, though still imperfect, world."”
—Susi Wyss, author of The Civilized World


Product Details
ISBN: 9781643859477
ISBN-10: 1643859471
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: March 8th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card