Mindful Sketching: How to Develop a Drawing Practice and Embrace the Art of Imperfection (Paperback)

Mindful Sketching: How to Develop a Drawing Practice and Embrace the Art of Imperfection By Peggy Dean Cover Image

Mindful Sketching: How to Develop a Drawing Practice and Embrace the Art of Imperfection (Paperback)

$21.95


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of Dec 5 9:19am
Politics and Prose at 70 District Square SW
1 on hand, as of Dec 5 9:33am
Politics and Prose at Union Market
1 on hand, as of Dec 5 9:33am
Express your own creativity and develop a life-changing mindfulness practice in this guide to mindful sketching for all levels by bestselling author and artist Peggy Dean.

  Combine the mental health benefits of mindfulness with the joy of sketching with this how-to guidebook by beloved art teacher Peggy Dean that walks you through the basics of staying present while you draw—and teaches you how to enjoy your work without self-criticism.

  Peggy leads readers through the basics of why and how to begin mindful sketching with instruction on materials, techniques, and working with different subject matter and locations; plus offers step-by-step exercises to guide you through the learning process, and fun sketching prompts.

  Learn how to stay in the moment while you're working, draw what you see around you, and embrace the results. Enjoy the mental state of calmness, flow, and non-judgmental self-expression that is mindfulness.

  Great for fans of Samantha Dion Baker, James Richards, Jen Russell-Smith, Mark Kistler, Flora Waycott, Danny Gregory, and Marc Taro Holmes.
 
Grab your sketchbook and get started—yes, you can draw!
Peggy Dean is a best-selling author, award-winning educator, and founder of the popular educational platform The Pigeon Letters. Peggy's books include The Ultimate Brush Lettering Guide, Botanical Line Drawing, and Peggy Dean’s Guide to Nature Drawing & Watercolor. Her work has been nationally recognized in worldwide publications. She maintains a popular instructional social media platform to inspire people to create. Peggy lives and works in Portland, Oregon and travels the world for speaking engagements and hands-on workshops. 
Product Details ISBN: 9781632174192
ISBN-10: 1632174197
Publisher: Spruce Books
Publication Date: May 17th, 2022
Pages: 176
Language: English
"We love Peggy's take on teaching the art of line drawing. Her joyful approach to embracing imperfections throughout the process is a breath of fresh air. From her perspective, a crooked line is your crooked line—it adds unique character to your artwork. Thanks to her inclusive style, beginners and pros alike can feel confident in their creativity."
—Brit + Co

"[Peggy Dean’s] ability to break down complex illustrations into simple shapes will have you creating pieces of artwork you didn’t know were possible. Her style inspires the artist in all of us."
—Skillshare