Symphony No.1, Op.25 'Classical': Study score (Paperback)

Symphony No.1, Op.25 'Classical': Study score By Sergey Prokofiev, Clinton F. Nieweg (Editor) Cover Image

Symphony No.1, Op.25 'Classical': Study score (Paperback)


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

Prokofiev started work on his first numbered symphony in the later half of 1916, composing the bulk of it while on a country holiday to escape the street fighting in Petrograd during the February revolution, finally completing the work on September 10, 1917. Inspired by his encounter in conducting class with the works of Haydn and Mozart, the symphony features clear and light orchestration Mozart in particular would have appreciated. The premiere took place in Petrograd on April 18, 1918 with the composer conducting the newly formed State Orchestra, formerly the Court Orchestra of the Tsar.

Editor Clinton F. Nieweg used all available sources in preparation of this outstanding edition of this landmark 20th century work. With a new clear engraving, the young Prokofiev's mastery of orchestral writing is readily apparent. First issued by the now-defunct publisher Kalmus in 2010, Serenissima is most pleased to offer this outstanding edition in study score format, along with the full score and orchestral parts. Serenissima is proud to serve as the only authorized publisher for Mr. Nieweg's outstanding editions.

Product Details ISBN: 9781608742981
ISBN-10: 1608742989
Publisher: Serenissima Music
Publication Date: September 20th, 2022
Pages: 92
Language: English