Mass in C minor, K.427/417a: Study score (Paperback)

Mass in C minor, K.427/417a: Study score By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Georg Aloys Schmitt (Arranged by), Jr. Sargeant, Richard W. (Editor) Cover Image

Mass in C minor, K.427/417a: Study score (Paperback)


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

Originally planned for a celebration of his wedding to Constanze Weber, Mozart performed the several completed sections on October 26, 1783 in Salzburg - filling in with movements from earlier liturgical works. Later, the composer re-used several sections of this music in his 1785 oratorio Davidde Penitente with new words.

Inspired by S ssmayr's completion of the Requiem, Georg Aloys Schmitt filled in missing sections with movements from earlier masses and fleshed out the orchestration from Mozart's sketches where needed. His reconstruction was given its premiere in April 1901 and promptly entered the choral repertoire. Despite several completions by others offered in more recent years, Schmitt's retains a significant following to this day. The study score offered here is a newly engraved edition prepared by Richard W. Sargeant, Jr. from the first edition full score - reprinted from a copyist's manuscript - issued by Breitkopf & Hartel in 1902. Its vastly improved layout and readability will be welcomed by students, conductors and aficionados of this fascinating torso left incomplete by Mozart. The large conductor's score and orchestral parts are likewise available from Serenissima Music.

Product Details ISBN: 9781608742431
ISBN-10: 1608742431
Publisher: Serenissima Music
Publication Date: August 10th, 2022
Pages: 230
Language: Latin