Any Place But Here (Paperback)

Any Place But Here By Sarah Van Name Cover Image

Any Place But Here (Paperback)

$10.99


Special Order—Subject to Availability

Fans of Morgan Matson and Sarah Dessen will fall in love with this contemporary coming of age story set at a picturesque Virginia boarding school.

That's what Jess was to me. I was the ground; she was the rain. I wasn't anything until she woke me up.

Seventeen-year-old June is completely wrapped up in her best friend Jess. The two are inseparable and June feels so lucky that they found each other. Even if everyone else around her thinks Jess is a bad influence. Even if June is starting to question if she likes Jess as more than just a friend.

But after June is expelled from school at the end of her first semester of junior year, she's forced to move to Virginia, to live with her grandmother and attend an all-girls boarding school. She'll be miles away from her home, from her family, and from Jess.

June is miserable at first and counts down the days until she can come back home for the summer. But when she befriends two new girls and meets a boy named Sam, who she is instantly drawn to, life in Virginia starts to feel more real. Except Jess is always on her mind, and she can't deny her feelings anymore, even as Jess starts to pull away from her.

June can't let Jess go—but she needs to figure out how to move forward, and how to find the place she really belongs.

Perfect for readers who like:

  • Teen boarding school romance
  • LGBTQ books for teens
  • Realistic fiction books for teens 14-18

Also by Sarah Van Name:

The Goodbye Summer

Sarah Van Name grew up in North Carolina and attended Duke University twice, once for a teenage creative writing camp and once as an undergraduate. She lives and works in Durham with her husband, Ben, and her dog, Toast. She is the author of The Goodbye Summer and Any Place but Here.

Product Details ISBN: 9781492677062
ISBN-10: 149267706X
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Publication Date: May 4th, 2021
Pages: 336
Language: English
"June’s complicated feelings for Jess—and subsequent questioning of her sexuality before coming out as bisexual—are compassionately and authentically written...An atmospheric meditation on connection and identity." — Kirkus Reviews

"[All] the characters mentioned in this novel were very accepting of anyone who identified as (or came out as) gay or bisexual; that, in and of itself, makes this book a worthwhile read…a relatively quick and enjoyable read!" - The Nerd Daily

"This novel does a good job of illustrating complex teen emotions, especially the precariousness of growing up and wanting to fit in despite not yet being sure where you belong... Fans of Julie Murphy’s Ramona Blue and Nina LaCour’s We Are Okay will enjoy this introspective, emotional novel." — School Library Journal