We're following all official guidelines to keep ourselves healthy on the job, and as a result, shipping may be delayed. 
You will receive an email from our web orders team confirming that your order has been processed.
We thank you for your support and your patience at this challenging time.

The Great Upending (Hardcover)

The Great Upending Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of May 27 1:15am

Description


When a troubled children’s book author moves to their farm, two kids with troubles of their own hatch a scheme to swipe the ending of the final book in a bestselling series to get a reward from the book’s publisher in this gorgeously written novel in the tradition of Wonder and Out of My Mind.

Twelve-year-old Sara and her brother Hawk are told that they are not to bother the man—The Mister—who just moved into the silo apartment on their farm. It doesn’t matter that they know nothing about him and they think they ought to know something. It doesn’t matter that he’s always riding that unicycle around. Mama told them no way, no how are they to bother The Mister unless they want to be in a mess of trouble.

Trouble is the last thing Sara and her brother need. Sara’s got a condition, you see. Marfan syndrome. And that Marfan syndrome is causing her heart to have problems, the kind of problems that require surgery. But the family already has problems: The drought has dried up their crops and their funds, which means they can’t afford any more problems, let alone a surgery to fix those problems. Sara can feel the weight of her family’s worry, and the weight of her time running out, but what can a pair of kids do?

Well, it all starts with…bothering The Mister.

About the Author


Beth Kephart is the award-winning author of books for both adults and young readers. Her most recent novel, Wild Blues, was named an ALA Youth Editor’s Choice. She lives in Devon, Pennsylvania, and she teaches creative nonfiction at the University of Pennsylvania.

Praise For…


*"[For] readers who love good storytelling and spirited heroines.... As refreshing as rainfall on a dry field." 
— Booklist, starred review

"Could accompany other novels...such as R.J. Palacio's Wonder."
— School Library Connection

"[A] gentle, lovely tale of a deeply bonded family, replete with a clever mystery."
— Kirkus Reviews


Product Details
ISBN: 9781481491563
ISBN-10: 1481491563
Publisher: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books
Publication Date: March 31st, 2020
Pages: 272

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card