The City We Built: Black Leaders of Austin (Paperback)

The City We Built: Black Leaders of Austin By Terry Mitchell Cover Image

The City We Built: Black Leaders of Austin (Paperback)

$14.99


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
In the tradition of Little Legends and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls comes The City We Built: Black Leaders of Austin, an illustrated children's book honoring the extraordinary African American men and women who played a critical role in shaping Black Austin's social, political, and cultural heritage. A collaboration between The Black Leaders Collective; The George Washington Carver Museum, Cultural and Genealogy Center; and renowned Texas visual artist Sad Lawson, The City We Built will take readers on an empowering and inspiring journey through Black Austin's history, highlighting such local luminaries as: Ada Anderson, Charles Atkins, Berl Handcox, Johnny Holmes, Azie Taylor Morton, Velma Roberts, Dorothy Turner, Willie Wells, and more. Featuring full-page biographies and vibrantly illustrated, full-color portraits, The City We Built will not only educate young readers and inspire a new generation of Austin Black leaders--but celebrate the heroes who helped build this remarkable city.
Product Details ISBN: 9781467197229
ISBN-10: 146719722X
Publisher: Arcadia Children's Books
Publication Date: April 15th, 2024
Pages: 64
Language: English