The Voting Booth (Hardcover)

The Voting Booth Cover Image
$18.99
In Stock—Click for Locations
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
5 on hand, as of Oct 21 1:17pm
Politics and Prose at 70 District Square SW
2 on hand, as of Oct 21 1:30pm
Politics and Prose at Union Market
2 on hand, as of Oct 21 2:40pm

Description


From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star.

Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She's always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election?

Duke Crenshaw is so done with this election. He just wants to get voting over with so he can prepare for his band's first paying gig tonight.

Only problem? Duke can't vote.

When Marva sees Duke turned away from their polling place, she takes it upon herself to make sure his vote is counted. She hasn't spent months doorbelling and registering voters just to see someone denied their right.
And that's how their whirlwind day begins, rushing from precinct to precinct, cutting school, waiting in endless lines, turned away time and again, trying to do one simple thing: vote. They may have started out as strangers, but as Duke and Marva team up to beat a rigged system (and find Marva's missing cat), it's clear that there's more to their connection than a shared mission for democracy.

Romantic and triumphant, The Voting Booth is proof that you can't sit around waiting for the world to change?but some things are just meant to be.

About the Author


Brandy Colbert is the award-winning author of Little & Lion, Pointe, and Finding Yvonne, and the forthcoming The Revolution of Birdie Randolph. Her short fiction and essays have been published in several critically acclaimed anthologies for young people. She is on faculty at Hamline University's MFA program in writing for children, and lives in Los Angeles.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781368053297
ISBN-10: 1368053297
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Publication Date: July 7th, 2020
Pages: 304

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card