White Lies: How the South Lost the Civil War, Then Rewrote the History (Hardcover)

White Lies: How the South Lost the Civil War, Then Rewrote the History By Ann Bausum Cover Image

White Lies: How the South Lost the Civil War, Then Rewrote the History (Hardcover)

$21.99


Not Yet Published—Pre-Order Now

This powerful and unflinching examination of racism in America by award-winning historian Ann Bausum deconstructs the warped history of the Civil War for teen readers, perfect for fans of STAMPED, JUST MERCY, and ACCOUNTABLE.

Warning: This is not your average U.S. history book.

After the Civil War, the Confederates may have laid down their arms, but they were far from accepting defeat. By warping the narrative around what really happened during and after the Civil War, they created an alternate history now known as the Lost Cause. These lies still manifest today through criticism of Critical Race Theory, book banning, unequal funding for education, and more.

This book sets the record straight and explains the true history of the Civil War, and its complex and far-reaching aftermath. Written by historian and award-winning author Ann Bausum, WHITE LIES is an impeccably researched chronicle filled with photos, robust back matter, additional resources, and more that fans of Howard Zinn's A Young People's History of the United States will enjoy.

Ann Bausum writes history for readers of all ages. Her books for young people help upper elementary, middle school, and high school students discover the drama and significance of stories from the past that may barely be presented in textbooks. In 2015 her adopted home state named her the year's Notable Wisconsin Children's Author. Two years later, the body of her work received national recognition with the Nonfiction Award of the Children's Book Guild of Washington, D.C.
Product Details ISBN: 9781250816573
ISBN-10: 1250816572
Publisher: Roaring Brook Press
Publication Date: February 11th, 2025
Pages: 464
Language: English