The Lewis Man: The Lewis Trilogy (Paperback)

The Lewis Man: The Lewis Trilogy By Peter May Cover Image

The Lewis Man: The Lewis Trilogy (Paperback)



Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the The Lewis Trilogy series.


Fin Macleod has returned to the Isle of Lewis, the storm-tossed, wind-scoured outer Hebridean island where he was born and raised. Having left behind his adult life in Edinburgh--including his wife and his career in the police force--the former Detective Inspector is intent on repairing past relationships and restoring his parents' derelict cottage.

His plans are interrupted when an unidentified corpse is recovered from a Lewis peat bog. The only clue to its identity is a DNA match to a local farmer, the now-senile Tormod Macdonald--the father of Fin's childhood sweetheart, Marsaili--a man who has claimed throughout his life to be an only child, practically an orphan. Reluctantly drawn into the investigation, Fin uncovers deep family secrets even as he draws closer to the killer who wishes to keep them hidden.
Peter May is the multi award-winning author of the internationally best-selling Lewis Trilogy set in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland; the China Thrillers, featuring Beijing detective Li Yan and American forensic pathologist Margaret Campbell; the critically-acclaimed Enzo Files, featuring Scottish forensic scientist Enzo MacLeod, which is set in France; and Entry Island. One of Scotland's most prolific television dramatists, he garnered more than a thousand credits in fifteen years as scriptwriter and script editor on prime-time British television drama. He is the creator of three major television drama series and presided over two of the highest-rated serials in his homeland before quitting television to concentrate on his first love, writing novels.
Product Details ISBN: 9780857382221
ISBN-10: 0857382225
Publisher: Quercus
Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015
Language: English
Series: The Lewis Trilogy
A Library Journal "Best Books of the Year" Pick for Mysteries

"May is superb . . . [a] moving and mysterious story."—The Toronto Star

"Haunting . . . The fast-moving investigation sweeps Fin across the starkly beautiful Hebridean landscape into unexpected byways, back into the darker chapters of Scotland's past, as well as his own-and smack into some very present danger."—Publisher's Weekly (Starred Review)

"lives up to the high standard of [The Blackhouse] . . . Stunning."—Library Journal (Starred Review)

"As good as its superb predecessor... not only a good mystery, but also a moving and evocative portrayal of a place where the unforgiving weather is matched only by the church's harsh patronage."—Laura Wilson, The Guardian

The way May combines forensic anthropology with old-fashioned detective legwork is fascinating. Even more compelling is watching Mcleod grapple with grief and regret as he sets about restoring his life . . . another gripping installment in the Lewis trilogy."—Booklist (Starred Review)

"Giving a voice to the demented figure at the center of the mystery accelerates the gradual pace of the revelations, gives Macdonald's unwilling, and largely unwitting, return to his early days a powerful poignancy, and allows him from time to time to leap ahead of the trained investigator working the same dark field. . . you'll keep turning the pages."—Kirkus Reviews

"Every bit as excellent as The Blackhouse... Peter May weaves his wonderful magic and the story unfolds before you in vivid detail."—Amanda C M Gillies, Eurocrime

"In mood and texture, Peter May's novels, set on the Isle of Lewis, are essentially Nordic, and he bears comparison with some of the best writers from those cold desolate climes... the plot throbs with past and present passions, jealousies, suspicions and regrets; the emotional secrets of the bleak island are even deeper than its peat bog."—Marcel Berlins, The Times

"The strength and beauty of this book lies in the exploration of the relationships between people. The characters are beautifully drawn and so true to life... The plot is intricate and cleverly fitted together... I absolutely loved this second book in the series and can safely state that May is currently unveiling a cracking series."—CrimeSquad

"May is a masterful story-teller. He skillfully combines pathos and the themes of identity, lost love and family ties to create an exciting, page-turning thriller."—Laura Wurzal, The Irish Examiner

"Spell-binding... the book's a delight: bringing people and place alive in equal measure."—Jim Kelly, ShotsMag

"The depiction of the island atmosphere is as impressive as the action."—Julia Handford, The Sunday Telegraph

"Like all the best crime fiction its interest is not restricted to the investigation... the scenes set in the orphanage in the Dean Village are moving... crime novels may be primarily entertainments, but the best ones always offer something more. Fin's investigation of this long-buried crime forces him to make a reassessment of his own life."—Allan Massie, The Scotsman

"His story is moving, portraying the harsh characteristics of the times and the unforgiving Hebridean weather. The twist at the end is satisfying, and the last few paragraphs are truly touching."—Deseret News

"[THE LEWIS MAN] will send you scurrying to read the first and waiting eagerly for the final book . . . Mr. May really knows how to write thrillers. He keeps us deliciously tantalized until the very end of the book."—Arab Vistas Today

"Readers will not be able to put down The Lewis Man . . . Readers will also discover a new favorite in Peter May. From the use of Gaelic to the beautifully described scenery, readers will experience the islands of Scotland for themselves. May crafts a thrilling mystery, transporting readers to his settings with descriptive imagery."Killer Nashville