Emotional Storm (Paperback)

Emotional Storm By Michael Eigen Cover Image

Emotional Storm (Paperback)

$22.95


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)
Penetrating look at human relatedness by one of the field's most innovative thinkers.

When two personalities meet, an emotional storm is created. This provocative quote by renowned psychoanalyst W.R. Bion is the point of departure for Eigen's new work. In the tradition of Martin Buber, Eigen explores the broad spectrum of emotions we experience in our relatedness to others, from feelings of longing, plenitude, and fulfillment to starvation, suffocation, and blind rage. Unlike authors of easy self-help books, Eigen embraces the storms of life as a critical aspect of our human bond. For Eigen, the emotional storm is not pathological, but rather integral to our humanity and instrumental to our growth and development. For this reason, he looks critically at our attempts to blunt our emotional response to the world around us. Like Eigen's other work, Emotional Storm weaves case studies, literary references, and psychoanalytic theory into an integrated, complex understanding.
MICHAEL EIGEN is in private practice in New York. Author of numerous books, he is also Associate Clinical Professor of Psychology at New York University and a Senior Member of the National Psychological Association for Psychoanalysis.
Product Details ISBN: 9780819567543
ISBN-10: 081956754X
Publisher: Wesleyan University Press
Publication Date: May 19th, 2005
Pages: 272
Language: English