Lush Lives (Hardcover)

Lush Lives By J. Vanessa Lyon Cover Image

Lush Lives (Hardcover)

$28.00


On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
25 on hand, as of Feb 27 9:26pm
Politics and Prose at The Wharf (610 Water St SW)
4 on hand, as of Feb 27 6:19pm
Politics and Prose at Union Market (1324 4th Street NE)
1 on hand, as of Feb 27 5:36pm

With beguiling wit and undeniable passion, Lush Lives is a deliciously queer and sexy novel about bold, brilliant women unafraid to take risks and fight for what they love

An unabashedly charged love story set in the evocative and high-stakes world of art and auction in New York City, Roxane Gay Books' second title is a crowd-pleaser in the vein of Jasmine Guillory's The Wedding Date and Helen Wan's The Partner Track.

For Glory Hopkins, inheriting her Aunt Lucille's Harlem brownstone feels more like a curse than a blessing. As a restless artist struggling to find gallery representation, Glory doesn't have the money, time, or patience to look after the aging house of an aunt she barely knew. But when she stumbles into Parkie de Groot, a savvy, ambitious auction house appraiser on the verge of a coveted promotion, her unexpected inheritance begins to look more promising. Glory and Parkie form an unlikely alliance and work to unearth the origins of a rare manuscript hidden in the brownstone's attic. In doing so, they uncover not only the well-kept secrets of Lucille's life but also the complex relationships between Harlem and its distinguished residents.

Undeniable as their connection may be, complications arise that threaten to tear apart their newly forged relationship. Between Parkie's struggle to overcome the heartache of past romances and professional problems that threaten to end her rising career, and Glory's unbridled and all-consuming ambition, they begin to keep secrets from each other. The deeper they dig into the mysteries of the Harlem brownstone, the more fraught their relationship becomes.

Lush Lives is an unforgettable novel of queer love, ambition, and the forgotten histories that define us.


J. Vanessa Lyon is the author of The Groves (an Audible Original) and Meet Me in Madrid, which appeared under the pseudonym Verity Lowell. She is an art historian, former appraiser, and occasional curator who teaches at a New England liberal arts college.
Product Details ISBN: 9780802161987
ISBN-10: 0802161987
Publisher: Roxane Gay Books
Publication Date: August 1st, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English