The Frog Book (Hardcover)

The Frog Book By Steve Jenkins, Steve Jenkins (Illustrator), Robin Page Cover Image

The Frog Book (Hardcover)

List Price: $19.99
Our Price: $17.99
(Save: $2.00 10%)
On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of Apr 19 9:20am

Caldecott Honor–winning team Steve Jenkins and Robin Page explore form, color, and pattern and capture the very unique nature of frogs in this brilliantly illustrated picture book. Perfect for fans of The Beetle Book and young readers looking for nonfiction about this perennially fascinating animal.


Long legs, sticky tongues, big round eyes, and other dazzling features—what's not to love about frogs? 


In this magnificently illustrated picture book, Caldecott Honor–winning team Steve Jenkins and Robin Page explore one of the world's most diverse—and most threatened—animals. With more than five thousand different frog species on the planet, in every color of the rainbow and a vast number of vivid patterns, no creatures are more fascinating to learn about or look at. Jenkins and Page present a stunning array of these intriguing amphibians and the many amazing adaptations they have made to survive.

Steve Jenkins wrote and illustrated many nonfiction picture books for young readers, including the Caldecott Honor Book What Do You Do with a Tail Like This? His books have been called stunning, eye-popping, inventive, gorgeous, masterful, extraordinary, playful, irresistible, compelling, engaging, accessible, glorious, and informative.



Steve Jenkins wrote and illustrated many nonfiction picture books for young readers, including the Caldecott Honor Book What Do You Do with a Tail Like This? His books have been called stunning, eye-popping, inventive, gorgeous, masterful, extraordinary, playful, irresistible, compelling, engaging, accessible, glorious, and informative.



Robin Page has worked on numerous bestselling and award-winning titles with her husband and collaborator, Steve Jenkins, including Caldecott Honor Book What Do You Do with a Tail Like This? She lives in Boulder, Colorado.

"[C]ompelling graphic design, hand-lettered text, and multiple images on oversize pages effectively present the surprising diversity of the small creatures....Eye-catching visuals and intriguing material make this overview of all things frog a first-rate choice." — School Library Journal (starred review)

"Once again, Jenkins and Page prove their ability to choose interesting examples, write short, child-friendly explanations, and portray salient features of animals with deftly cut and torn paper images set on white paper." — Kirkus Reviews

 "As if frogs themselves weren't sufficient draws, this picture book offers vibrant, attention-getting illustrations that hop off pages." — Booklist (starred review)