Boyfriends, Burritos and an Ocean of Trouble (Real Life #2) (Paperback)

Boyfriends, Burritos and an Ocean of Trouble (Real Life #2) By Nancy N. Rue Cover Image

Boyfriends, Burritos and an Ocean of Trouble (Real Life #2) (Paperback)


Not On Our Shelves—Ships in 1-5 Days
(This book cannot be returned.)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Real Life series.

In this YA contemporary novel from bestselling author Nancy Rue, the issues of abuse and its emotional effects are explored as Bryn O'Connor struggles to find her voice while many of her one-time friends doubt she's telling the truth and her ex-boyfriend won't let go of their past.

Bryn has learned to keep her mouth shut. But when a trip to the hospital following a car accident reveals bruises and injuries inflicted by her boyfriend days and months before, her biggest secret is unwillingly unleashed. And though a restraining order is meant to keep her safe from Preston, it seems nothing can protect her from her supposed friends, who refuse to believe Preston is capable of such violence and look to punish her for what happened to him. Making Bryn wonder if finally telling the truth only made things worse.

The stress and loneliness leaves Bryn feeling crazy--especially when it seems like the leather book she picked up at the hospital is reading her thoughts. It doesn't help that her visiting grandma, Mim, is convinced surfing lessons and homemade Mexican food will somehow help Bryn regain control and focus away from the bullying messages pinging her phone. Though when Preston breaks the restraining order yet again, and a trial date looms, it's clear the only way out of the tsunami that is her life is to charge in and take control of the waves around her.

Boyfriends, Burritos & an Ocean of Trouble:

  • uses a fictional setting to explore the real-life issues of abuse and quieted voices young women face
  • delves into the concepts of finding your voice, overcoming difficult circumstances, and working past feelings of self-blame
  • provides an inspirational message for those dealing with tough circumstances
  • is the second book in the Real Life series, but can be read as a stand-alone novel
Product Details ISBN: 9780310714859
ISBN-10: 0310714850
Publisher: Zondervan
Publication Date: May 8th, 2010
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Real Life