We're following all official guidelines to keep ourselves healthy on the job, and as a result, shipping may be delayed. 
You will receive an email from our web orders team confirming that your order has been processed.
We thank you for your support and your patience at this challenging time.

If I Never Met You: A Novel (Paperback)

If I Never Met You: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
2 on hand, as of Jul 11 9:15am

Description


Bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartfelt romantic comedy perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Sophie Kinsella, or Sally Thorne.

One of Shondaland's 5 Must-Read Books for March!

If faking love is this easy... how do you know when it’s real?

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling—not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying. When news of her ex’s pregnant girlfriend hits the office grapevine, taking the humiliation lying down is not an option. Then a chance encounter in a broken-down elevator with the office playboy opens up a new possibility.

Jamie Carter doesn’t believe in love, but he needs a respectable, steady girlfriend to impress their bosses. Laurie wants a hot new man to give the rumor mill something else to talk about. It’s the perfect proposition: a fauxmance played out on social media, with strategically staged photographs and a specific end date in mind. With the plan hatched, Laurie and Jamie begin to flaunt their new couple status, to the astonishment—and jealousy—of their friends and colleagues. But there’s a fine line between pretending to be in love and actually falling for your charming, handsome fake boyfriend...

About the Author


Sunday Times bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane was born in Scotland and her unnecessarily confusing name is pronounced Vah-Ree. After some efforts at journalism, she started writing novels and her first book, You Had Me At Hello, was an instant success. She’s now written six books and she lives in Nottingham with a man and a cat.

Praise For…


"McFarlane's gift is writing romantic comedy that depicts a recognizable world... without dimming the luster of shining moments of humor, love, and connection... a very funny, very romantic story with deep emotional impact." 
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"McFarlane brings a welcome dose of reality to the fake office romance trope with flawed, honest, but still endearing protagonists... McFarlane’s arch humor and earnest characters make this familiar plot feel fresh, fun, and genuinely moving. This is a delightful rom-com full of sass, sparkle, and heart. "
Publishers Weekly

"McFarlane has a charming voice, one distinctly British in its wry humor, whimsical turn of phrase, and vibrant sense of setting... the novel itself is a dizzy delight, bursting with rom-com tropes... If I Never Met You is quippy and warm, an escape in almost every sense of the word, and McFarlane’s irresistible voice that balances pathos and humor in equal measure, leaves us wanting more.”
Entertainment Weekly

“Mhairi McFarlane’s voice is as clear as a bell—she makes you laugh, but she also makes you feel. I adore her!”
— Sally Thorne, USA Today bestselling author of The Hating Game and 99 Percent Mine

"Readers who swarm to contemporary romance authors like Christina Lauren and Tessa Bailey... will enjoy this title." 
Booklist

"Readers will certainly fall for Laurie and Jamie’s shenanigans in McFarlane’s latest."
Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062958501
ISBN-10: 006295850X
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: March 24th, 2020
Pages: 432
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card