Extra Yarn (Hardcover)

Extra Yarn Cover Image
By Mac Barnett, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
1 on hand, as of May 25 1:15pm

Winter 2012 Kids' Next List


“The town where Annabelle lives is a very boring place; a dull grey city where nobody wears anything colorful at all. One day Annabelle finds a box full of yarn, so she knits herself a sweater. But she finds that she has extra yarn left over. Soon, she is knitting sweaters for everyone and everything (even a pickup truck!) and her town is becoming brighter by the stitch. Somehow, she always has extra yarn!”
— Maryam Yachnes, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA

Description


From bestselling and award-winning author Mac Barnett and illustrator Jon Klassen comes Extra Yarn, a Caldecott Honor Book, Boston Globe-Horn Book Award winner, and a New York Times bestseller.

A young girl and her box of magical yarn transform a community in this stunning picture book. With spare, gently humorous illustrations and a palette that moves from black-and-white to a range of color, this modern fairy tale has the feel of a new classic.

Fans of Oliver Jeffers and Peter Brown will love this book.

Praise For…


“There’s nothing to say but—perfect.”

“Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale.”

“Klassen’s deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett’s quirky droll writing.”

“Klassen’s pacing, especially the mostly wordless sequence when the box floats back to Annabelle on a triangle of an iceberg, is impeccable. The final spread, all light and yarn-covered tree limbs, brings Barnett’s clever, quiet yarn full circle, to a little girl and a town, now colorful and happy.”

“Reading like a droll fairy tale, this Barnett-Klassen collaboration is both seamless and magical. The spare, elegant text and art are also infused with plenty of deadpan humor. Quirky and wonderful, this story quietly celebrates a child’s ingenuity and her ability to change the world around her.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780061953385
ISBN-10: 0061953385
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: January 17th, 2012
Pages: 40
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card