Politics and Prose on Connecticut Avenue will be open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. today, Wednesday November 22.
Politics and Prose at The Wharf will be open 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. today. Both locations will be closed for Thanksgiving.

Staff Pick

Gold Star father and Pakistani immigrant Khzir Khan, meanwhile, provides a fascinating and personal article-by-article examination of the document he famously cited during the 2016 Democratic National Convention in This Is Our Constitution: Discover America with a Gold Star Father (Knopf, $16.99).

This Is Our Constitution: Discover America with a Gold Star Father Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524770914
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 24th, 2017

Share this
Staff Pick

Fans of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel will find a new picture-book biography of its author irresistible. Sherri Duskey Rinker, author of the contemporary classic Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site, uses her own signature style to pay homage to Virginia Lee Burton’s beloved literary creations, including Katy and the Big Snow and The Little House. John Rocco’s appealing illustrations meld with the text to create a loving tribute to the woman who turned her pen into a magical wand to create worlds full of what her sons loved best: Big Machines (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, $17.99). Ages 5-8.

Big Machines: The Story of Virginia Lee Burton Cover Image
By Sherri Duskey Rinker, John Rocco (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544715578
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Houghton Mifflin - September 5th, 2017

Share this
Staff Pick

Before She Was Harriet (Holiday House, $17.95), Araminta Ross was known by many names. The woman who would become Harriet Tubman could be identified in myriad ways throughout her life, from nicknames like Minty and Moses to more universal labels such as sister, daughter, suffragist, and freedom fighter. Lesa Cline-Ransome uses poetry to detail the extraordinary life of one of America’s greatest heroes. Coupled with beautifully detailed watercolor illustrations by James E. Ransome, Cline-Ransome’s verses highlight this former slave’s many accomplishments. Moving beyond Tubman’s work as a conductor on the Underground Railroad, readers will revel in her lesser-known achievements as a Civil War spy and expedition leader and truly learn what this “wisp of a woman with the courage of a lion” accomplished. Ages 6-9.

Before She Was Harriet Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780823420476
Availability: In Stock—Click for Locations
Published: Holiday House - November 7th, 2017

Share this

Pages