This Vacant Paradise (Hardcover)

This Vacant Paradise Cover Image
$25.00
Special Order—Subject to Availability

Description


The 1990s--Newport Beach, California. Money is God. A man's worth is judged by the size of his boat, the make of his car. A woman's value is assessed by the blank perfection of her quantifiable desirability: dress size, cup size, the whiteness of her teeth. And oh yes: her youth. Though Esther Wilson, the heroine of Victoria Patterson's debut novel, has the looks to marry well, things aren't going as planned. She's nearing her mid-30s and possibly aging out of the only role she's equipped to play: wife to a powerful member of the elite.
In the tradition of Edith Wharton and Henry James, This Vacant Paradise recasts the important questions about our very American obsessions: class, caste, race, age, and the roles of men and women in our drive toward an ever more lofty sense of our upward mobility.
Victoria Patterson, author of the story collection Drift, a Story Prize and California Book Award finalist, gives us a novel of such rigor and complexity that it feels too masterful to be her first. Like ZZ Packer or Robert Stone, Patterson's prose is at once wickedly entertaining and searingly intelligent.

About the Author


Victoria Patterson is the author of the story collection Drift, which was a finalist for the Commonwealth Club Award and the Story Prize. Her work has appeared in various publications and journals, including the Los Angeles Times, the Alaska Quarterly Review, and the Southern Review. She lives with her family in Southern California and teaches through the UCLA Writers Extension and as a Visiting Assistant Professor at UC Riverside.

Praise For…


Praise for This Vacant Paradise

"Patterson beautifully parses the consequences of one woman's fall in this memorable, penetrating, fully achieved novel." The New York Times Book Review

"Patterson writes with the exuberance of a natural storyteller. Her cast is rich, her narrative sinuous and masterfully structured." San Francisco Chronicle

"With echoes of a modern-day House of Mirth, Patterson’s elaborate tale examines the complexities and contradictions of society, family, and personal desire." Booklist

"Considering the subject matterthe real housewives of Orange CountyPatterson's debut novel (after story collection Drift) is surprisingly sophisticated and nuanced. In debt and unmarried, Esther Wilson works at a clothing boutique and lives with her wealthy grandmother, Eileen, whose financial generosity is orchestrated to "encourage dependence." Terrified of poverty, Esther is in the midst of securing a proposal from an unattractive but wealthy heir, but she blows it. Enter ex-boyfriend Charlie Murphy, who, though from a well-off family, is a liberal-minded sociology professor at the local community college, and therefore an object of Eileen's derision. Charlie takes it upon himself to emancipate Esther from the chains of vapid privilege, but with a huge inheritance imminent for him and nasty gossip circulating about Esther, Charlie's lefty enlightenment dims. As an acerbic commentary on mid-'90s Southern Californian excess, the novel walks a fine line between critic and unintentional participantcommentaries on the retrograde position of Orange County women jostle against overindulgent physical descriptionthough Patterson's Southern California has echoes of Nathanael West and early Bruce Wagner." Publishers Weekly

This Vacant Paradise is that truly rare thing, a first novel that arrives with its writer working at the height of her intellectual gifts and creative powers.” Jane Vandenburgh, author of Architecture of the Novel and A Pocket History of Sex in the Twentieth Century

This is an exceptional novel, populated by several memorable and deftly rendered characters, each presented with nuance and compassion. Patterson taps deeply into their humanity, and the outcome is striking and dark.” Michael Jaime-Becerra, author of This Time Tomorrow

This Vacant Paradise is an enthralling reinterpretation of The House of Mirth that reminds us that there are contemporary Lily Barts. Esther Wilsonwhat a character! Her sense of integrity and her desire for love are so understandable, yet they continually bring her into conflict with her materialistic family and acquaintances in Newport Beach. Has the last hundred years of advances in women’s rights made a difference to the woman raised to marry for money? Victoria Patterson asks this fascinating question, and the answer makes for a completely engaging novel.” Alice Elliott Dark, author of Think of England and In the Gloaming

Praise for Drift

Set against the affluence of Newport Beach, Patterson’s debut collection often focuses on the enclavesoutcasts, waitstaff, divorcées, alcoholics, and drug addictsas her characters confront personal battles, the limits of friendship, and the bleary anticipation of a different life. Patterson’s thirteen engaging tales offer keen perspectives on life lived on the fringe.” Booklist

Patterson’s unflinching account of the seedy side of a real-life Xanadu is frightening, immersive, and wonderfully realized.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Victoria Patterson’s Newport Beach is a privileged world of wealth and heedless consumption that trails a wake of human damage. By giving us nuanced portraits of the sidelined, she somehow evokes the complex, glittering whole. Patterson is our generation’s heir to John O’Hara and Edith Wharton. And nobody else writes about female sexuality with such sensitivity and fearlessness. Several times, I had to put this book down just to catch my breath.” Michelle Huneven, author of Jamesland and Round Rock

Victoria Patterson’s beautiful stories break our hearts as they inform us. Through her characters we see the complications and trauma of not fitting in with one’s surroundings, in a version of California we are rarely allowed to see. Haunting, affirming, and often comic, her stories make the reader grateful for this writer’s documentation of our human alienationand our unexpected bonds. Patterson is a gifted storyteller, a fresh, essential new voice.” Dana Johnson, author of Break Any Woman Down

Victoria Patterson has enormous talent and I suspect we'll be hearing a lot more from her.” James Lee Burke, author of the Dave Robicheaux series

If I could write just a single story as beautiful and heartbreaking and intelligent as the thirteen linked together in Drift, I’m pretty sure that I could die a happy man. Victoria Patterson makes me envious as hell, and I applaud her for it.” Donald Ray Pollock, author of Knockemstiff

Product Details
ISBN: 9781582436456
ISBN-10: 1582436452
Publisher: Counterpoint LLC
Publication Date: March 2011
Pages: 309
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card