The Great Suppression: Voting Rights, Corporate Cash, and the Conservative Assault on Democracy (Hardcover)

The Great Suppression: Voting Rights, Corporate Cash, and the Conservative Assault on Democracy Cover Image
$26.00
On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics & Prose - 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
On hand as of Feb 27 8:15am
Politics & Prose - 1025 5th Street, NW, 5th & K
On hand as of Feb 27 12:15am
Politics & Prose - 2021 14th Street NW, 14th & V
On hand as of Feb 27 8:15am

Description


In the wake of Donald Trump's victory in the 2016 presidential election, a deeply reported look inside the conservative movement working to undermine American democracy
Donald Trump is the second Republican this century to triumph in the Electoral College without winning the popular vote. As Zachary Roth reveals in The Great Suppression, this is no coincidence. Over the last decade, Republicans have been rigging the game in their favor. Twenty-two states have passed restrictions on voting. Ruthless gerrymandering has given the GOP a long-term grip on Congress. Meanwhile, theSupreme Court has eviscerated campaign finance laws, boosting candidates backed by big money.
It would be worrying enough if these were just schemes for partisan advantage. But the reality is even more disturbing: a growing number of Republicans distrust the very idea of democracy and they re doing everything they canto limit it.
InThe Great Suppression, Roth unearths the deep historical roots of this anti-egalitarian worldview, and introduces us toits modern-day proponents: The GOP officials pushing to make it harder to cast a ballot; the lawyers looking to scrap all limits on money in politics; the libertarian scholars reclaiming judicial activism to roll back the New Deal; and the corporate lobbyists working toban local action on everything from the minimum wage to the environment.And he travels from Rust Belt cities to southern towns to show us how these efforts are hurting the most vulnerable Americans and preventing progress on pressing issues.
A sharp, searing polemic in the tradition of Rachel Maddow and Matt Taibbi, The Great Suppressionis an urgent wake-up call about a threat to our most cherished values, and a rousing argument for why we need democracy now more than ever.

About the Author


Zachary Roth is a national reporter for MSNBC. He was born and raised in London and lives with his family in Brooklyn.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781101905760
ISBN-10: 110190576X
Publisher: Crown Publishing Group (NY)
Publication Date: August 2nd, 2016
Pages: 256
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card