Juana and Lucas (Hardcover)

Juana and Lucas Cover Image
By Juana Medina, Juana Medina (Illustrator)
$14.99
On Our Shelves Now at:
Politics and Prose at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW
3 on hand, as of Nov 24 12:30pm

Description


Winner of the 2017 Pura Belpre Author Award

Fans of Judy Moody and Clarice Bean will love Juana, the spunky young Colombian girl who stars in this playful, abundantly illustrated new series.

Juana loves many things -- drawing, eating Brussels sprouts, living in Bogota, Colombia, and especially her dog, Lucas, the best amigo ever. She does not love wearing her itchy school uniform, solving math problems, or going to dance class. And she especially does not love learning the English. Why is it so important to learn a language that makes so little sense? But when Juana's abuelos tell her about a special trip they are planning--one that Juana will need to speak English to go on--Juana begins to wonder whether learning the English might be a good use of her time after all. Hilarious, energetic, and utterly relatable, Juana will win over los corazones -- the hearts -- of readers everywhere in her first adventure, presented by namesake Juana Medina.

About the Author


Juana Medina was born and raised in Bogota, Colombia. She is the illustrator of Smick! by Doreen Cronin and the author-illustrator of One Big Salad. Juana Medina has studied and taught at the Rhode Island School of Design and now teaches at the Corcoran School of the Arts and Design at George Washington University. She lives in Washington, D.C.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780763672089
ISBN-10: 0763672084
Publisher: Candlewick Press (MA)
Publication Date: September 27th, 2016
Pages: 96
Language: English

Membership Benefits

Membership 
 

 Gift cards can be used online or in-store.

Gift Card